Education

Education

Virtual School

Are not a real school with buildings and classrooms, they are a group of people who work closely with your schools to make sure you enjoy school and do as well as you can. For more information on the virtual school check out our guide Your Journey – Living Away from Home or visit their website.

Frome College www.fromecollege.somerset.sch.uk

Heathfield Community School www.heathfieldcommunityschool.com

Huish Episcopi Academy www.huishepiscopi.net

Holyrood Academy www.holyroodacademy.com

Sexeys www.sexeys.somerset.sch.uk

The King Alfred School www.kingalfred.somerset.sch.uk

The Kings of Wessex Academy www.kowessex.co.uk

The Blue School www.theblueschoolwells.co.uk

Wadham School www.wadhamschool.co.uk

West Somerset College www.westsomersetcollege.org

Bridgwater & Taunton College

www.bridgwater.ac.uk and www.somerset.ac.uk

Richard Huish College www.huish.ac.uk

Strode College www.strode-college.ac.uk

Yeovil College www.yeovil.ac.uk

The 16 to 19 Bursary Fund is money the government has given to local authorities, schools, colleges and other education and training providers to give to students who need financial help to stay in education. If you are a young person in care or a care leaver you can get a bursary of up to £1200 a year. The bursary fund is designed to help you with the costs of attending your course, your college or training provider can say what you should spend it on. For full information on 16-19 year old bursaries please visit the government website 
If you need a laptop for your studies then you can purchase this from your bursary. Alternately the council has access to a number of refurbished laptops that you can request through your social worker or leaving care worker. These laptops are not brand new, however should it break within the first 12 months then a replacement can be requested.

Careers Fairs

A place where young people and their carers can access the support required to make the best choices in their education and future careers. There are 2 events taking place at Junction 24 in North Petherton on 11th October and Yeovilton Fleet Air Arm Museum on 14th November.

 

Not sure what to do when you finish school?

There is a handy booklet that will guide you through your options.   The guide will help you find out about the many learning opportunities available in Somerset for 16 – 19 year olds, up to 25 years old if you have a special educational need and / or disability ( SEND). You can view the Your Future 2016/17 guide from Somerset Choices website